WALK Local News


42 LI Teachers Named "Master Teachers"

Albany (WALK) - Long Island has many good teachers, but only a select few can call themselves "master" teachers.

Governor Andrew Cuomo announced yesterday that 42 Long Island educators are among 215 statewide that have been added to the state's Master Teacher Program. The program, which launched last October, recruits high-performing science and math teachers to mentor less-experienced teachers and college students in teaching the STEM subjects, including science, technology, engineering and math. Participating teachers receive a total $60,000 stipend over the next four years.

"The Master Teacher Program creates a community of teacher experts dedicated to providing a first-rate learning experience for students across New York, and contributes to our efforts to attract and retain the best and the brightest in our STEM classrooms," said Cuomo, in a statement.

STEM jobs have been getting a lot of attention lately because there's a shortage of skilled talent to fill positions in those fields, even though they usually pay pretty well.

The Commack School District led the way with five teachers making the list. Four teachers were chosen from the Smithtown School District. Most other Long Island districts didn't have more than 1 teacher make the cut.

The Long Island teachers that made the list were:

  • Sonja Anderson, Sayville School District
  • Ashley Bloch, Islip School District
  • Mary Blondrage, Sewanhaka School District
  • Maria Brown, Sayville School District
  • Stephanie Burns, Connetquot Central School District
  • Amy Cappiello, Commack Union Free School District
  • Daniel Concannon, Hauppauge School District
  • Olga Crnosija, Smithtown School District
  • Lisa Daniels, Roslyn School District
  • Kathleen Dinota, East Islip School District
  • Kristen Drury, William Floyd School District
  • Ellen Fraser, Shoreham-­Wading River School District
  • Richard Gearns, Sachem School District
  • Jason Gutlaizer, Sewanhaka School District
  • Catherine Hantz, Mount Sinai School District
  • Kristin Holmes, Commack Union Free School District
  • Michael Jantzen, Three Village School District
  • Michael Khan, Harborfields School District
  • David Knuffke, Deer Park Union Free School District
  • Theresa Kraycar, East Hampton School District
  • Soowook Lee, Roslyn School District
  • Kimberly Libertini, Valley Stream School District
  • Keith Lundquist, South Huntington Union Free School District
  • Lawrence Maggio, Plainedge School District
  • Keith Millman, Brentwood Union Free School District
  • Natasha Murray, Copiague Union Free School District
  • Dawn Nachtigall, Three Village School District
  • Stephanie O'Brien, Commack Union Free School District
  • Cody Onufrock, Long Beach School District
  • Christina Pawlowski, Commack Union Free School
  • District Elizabeth Philp, Smithtown School District
  • Derek Pope, Commack Union Free School District
  • Christine Rosado, William Floyd School District
  • Marianne Schoepflin, Smithtown School District
  • Michael Shanzer, Bay Shore Union Free School District
  • Nora Sheppard, Bellmore-­‐Merrick Central High School District
  • Richard Slesinski, Syosset School District
  • Michael Stano, Garden City School District
  • Jon Steigerwald, Deer Park Union Free School District
  • Charles Vessalico, Malverne School District
  • Alicia Walsh, Patchogue-­Medford School District
  • Gillian Winters, Smithtown School District

SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher says that the Master Teacher Program complements a new STEM scholarship program that provides full tuition scholarships to any SUNY college or university to New York’s best high school graduates if they pursue a STEM career and work in New York for five years.

This will "keep New York competitive in the 21st century global innovation economy," said Zimpher.

A third application cycle for the Master Teacher Program will take place this year. STEM teachers are encouraged to visit suny.edu/masterteacher for more information and to register to be notified when the online application is open.


More Articles